Dirt in pool

Water bugs, swimming insects and sweat bees.
Foaming bubbly water. Frogs in the pool.
Dead animals in the swimming pool.
19by41
I'm new here
I'm new here
My Pool: vinyl liner 19X41 oval
Hayward pump and sand filter
35 years old
2 skimmers, 2 returns

Dirt in pool

Postby 19by41 » Tue 03 Sep, 2013 15:58

I've been operating this 19x41 vinyl pool for 35 years, but this year I've run into a problem I've been unable to solve.
The pool gets dirt on the bottom when the pump system operates. The water is crystal clear, but there's dirt on the bottom.
The pump stops running at noon. The pool can be completely clean. The pump restarts at 3AM and when I check it at 6AM, the water is clear but there's dirt on the bottom.
I've closed the valve on each skimmer (two), plugged the return lines (two) and run the pump with the filter on recirculate. I did all this stuff one at a time, but each morning the pool has dirt in it.
I've left the pump off for 24 hours and the pool stays clean so it's something in the pump/filter scheme. One more thing - I have a gas heater that is between the pump and the pool. There is no way to bypass the heater without cutting the pipes and installing a bypass and adding a couple of valves. The heater is 15 to 20 years old.
Any ideas? Anything you can think of that I can try?

Denniswiseman
Pool Industry Leader
Pool Industry Leader
My Pool: 10k inground fibreglass, Telescopic Cover, Hayward Powerline pump, Quality filter with glass media, 27kw output heat pump, K-2006C test kit

Dirt in pool

Postby Denniswiseman » Wed 04 Sep, 2013 06:55

Hi

Have you backwashed
You can try vacuuming to waste, then see if it comes back
How old is the sand in the filter 3 to 5 years it may need replacing
Have you tried a flocculant as fine dirt can find it's way through new sand

Regarding the heater you have already got the right idea. Fit a bypass
19by41
I'm new here
I'm new here
My Pool: vinyl liner 19X41 oval
Hayward pump and sand filter
35 years old