Baquacil - High Alkalinity - High PH - Foamy water

Problems relating to pH and total alkalinity.
Increase ph, increase TA. Reduce pH, reduce TA.
pH chemistry advice and techniques for the pool.
tribalben
I'm new here
I'm new here
My Pool: 25,000gal Rectangle outdoor Baquacil Pool
65 sq.f. D.E Filter

Postby tribalben » Mon 16 May, 2011 18:17

Hello all! I am fairly new to taking care of this pool, and in the past, only have experience with chlorine pools.

We are using the Baquacil CDX system ( which someone else converted the pool over to, before I started caring for it ) and are just now starting to really use the pool.

I have 8+ pH and about 240 TA. I have been trying to drop the TA with dry acid, but am not sure if what I am doing is helping it.

I would welcome any help!

Ben

chem geek
Pool Industry Leader
Pool Industry Leader

Postby chem geek » Mon 16 May, 2011 20:31

Follow the procedure in how to Lower Total Alkalinity. It takes a lot of acid and aeration since your TA is rather high.
tribalben
I'm new here
I'm new here
65 sq.f. D.E Filter

Postby tribalben » Tue 17 May, 2011 00:55

Do I need to use the baquacil acid, or can I use standard dry acid?

Also, for aeration, will air coming in through a pump leak work?
chem geek
Pool Industry Leader
Pool Industry Leader

Postby chem geek » Tue 17 May, 2011 01:11

Baquacil® pH Decreaser has "Sulfuric Acid, Monosodium Salt" which is another name for sodium bisulfate aka dry acid (sulfuric acid is H2SO4, sodium bisulfate is NaHSO4 so is a monosodium salt of sulfuric acid). So you can use standard dry acid or can even use Muriatic Acid if you want to.

As for aeration, I would not bring air into the pump but would instead just point returns upward to have the water flow break the water surface or make waves on the surface. If you have any fountains, waterfalls, spilloers, then you can turn those on.
tribalben
I'm new here
I'm new here
65 sq.f. D.E Filter

Postby tribalben » Tue 17 May, 2011 02:56