High Alkalinity, can't keep stable

Problems relating to pH and total alkalinity.
Increase ph, increase TA. Reduce pH, reduce TA.
pH chemistry advice and techniques for the pool.
bnairb
Pool Enthusiast
Pool Enthusiast
My Pool: 18x36 inground, vinyl, Hayward super pump, Hayward sand filter using zeolite

Postby bnairb » Thu 01 Jul, 2010 08:30

Morning all.

Sorry this might seem so long, but I've been battling alkalinity for 3 months and it's driving me insane. My local pool stores aren't much help with knowledge. What factors would cause the alkalinity to keep going back up?

I started with muriatic acid, then ph up, but it was a roller coaster. Switched to the ph down then aeration method to bring the ph back up. The method does work but after a day or 2, my alkalinity goes right back up.

Here's my current stats. Not precise as I'm just using the aquacheck strips.
Total Hardness: About 250
Total Chlorine: around 3
Free Chlorine: around 3
pH: bet 7-7.5
Total Alkalinity: Around 150-180+ (this ones hard to read on the strip)
Cyanuric Acid: I believe somwhere bet 30-80, difficult to read

To begin, past years have always required Alkalinty Up. Pretty sure I had to put some in when I opened this year. Pool store says a few other people have said Alkalinity higher than past years.

At the begining of the season I also add Calcium Chloride to get the hardness up. Incoming water is well water, through sediment filter to remove suspended iron, then through water softener, so when opening I add the Calcium Chloride to get the hardness up.

I'm using zeolite instead of sand.

Once a week I put in Pool Perfect + Phos free to keep the phosphates down, which means I don't need to use algaecide.

Every couple of weeks I shock it.

I have an inline chlorinator using Ez Chlor Big tabs trichlor