How to add chlorine tablets

Chlorinating, maintaining the right chlorine levels,
chlorine problems. Dichlor, trichlor, cal hypo, bleach,
granules, chlorine pucks and chlorine sticks.
dorval
I'm new here
I'm new here

How to add chlorine tablets

Postby dorval » Thu 12 Jul, 2007 07:35

Hi,
I took my pool water (24' round above-ground) to get tested at Leslie's. They told me that I needed to add chlorine tablets. Last season I used one of those plastic chlorine tablet dispensers where you drop in the tablets and the dispenser floats in the water...tablets never seemed to dissolve maybe because I was using the 3" tablets. Now I was told to put the tablets into the skimmer. I started looking it up online and found out that it might not be a good idea to throught the chlorine tablets into the skimmer because it would cause an inbalance of chlorine and it could possibly damage the liner...is there any truth to this??? Please help me out...I am new to all of this and feel confused now about what to do. Thanks. :?

chem geek
Pool Industry Leader
Pool Industry Leader

Postby chem geek » Thu 12 Jul, 2007 14:44

It depends on the specific Trichlor tablets you use. Most should not be put into the skimmer unless the pump is always running and even then that is risky in case of a power outage. Trichlor is VERY acidic and high in chlorine so if there is no circulation, there can be a build up of acidity and chlorine and this can damage not only the liner just outside the skimmer, but also the metal in the pump.

There are special Trichlor products, such as BioGuard Smart Sticks that presumably do not dissolve unless there is circulation (i.e. the pump is running) and that are supposed to be safe to put into the skimmer.