No Chlorine Reading

Chlorinating, maintaining the right chlorine levels,
chlorine problems. Dichlor, trichlor, cal hypo, bleach,
granules, chlorine pucks and chlorine sticks.
babybaits
Pool Enthusiast
Pool Enthusiast
My Pool: Best way 4000 gallon vinyl pool

No Chlorine Reading

Postby babybaits » Mon 11 Jul, 2022 08:51

I'm a total newbie when it comes to pools. I'm trying to get my sons 1839 gallon pool safe for everyone to swim in but I'm having problems getting the chlorine level up. He recently bought this pool and after about a week, he left the filter off and the pool turned green. I've shocked it three times, and by looking at it, the water looks good, but I still can't get a good chlorine level. I'm using HTH 6-way test strips and the most I can get it at is the Minimum level, if I'm lucky. Everything else on the test strip is pretty much at the normal level, it's just the chlorine. I understand that it's being used up faster than I can add it, but what do I do? Do I just keep adding more chlorine, wait, test, and see where I'm at until it's at a good level?

Someone just told me that I need to shock it while I have a chlorine tablet in the pool. I looked it up, and it seems like that might be the answer. Is it?

Teapot1
Pool Industry Leader
Pool Industry Leader
My Pool: 12000 gallons vinyl liner,

Re: No Chlorine Reading

Postby Teapot1 » Thu 14 Jul, 2022 02:10

Its a little more complicated than that. Chlorine gets burned up by the sun. To protect the chlorine somewhat you need cyanuric acid (CYA) in the water. You chlorine tablets contain this but it takes time for the right amount (30-50ppm) to build up, could be 10 tablets. In the meantime the sun will burn up the chlorine in around 2.5 hours. So you need to keep adding more to keep everything nice. Adding after sundown will ensure the water is sanitised nicely overnight. Dip strips are near useless for measuring CYA, yes you get a colour change reaction but very unlikely to be anywhere near correct.