Scale?

Total hardness and calcium hardness in pool water.
Scale, calcium buildup, hard water and scaling problems.
I'm new here
I'm new here
My Pool: rectangular 40,000 litres. 2 metres at deep end. 1.5HP pump by acquasource (Greek company)

Scale?

Postby 2182248 » Fri 05 Jul, 2013 06:39

Sorry if these are stupid questions - I'm new to this game.
I have a recurring problem which I believe is scale build-up.
I live in Greece and my pool is 40,000 litres, in ground, built of concrete and tiled.
The pool was installed 3 years ago and is filled with 'spring water' from a nearby bore hole.
The first year I had a bad build up of scale on all the surfaces in contact with the water. I was uncertain as to what had caused the problem; we had building work going on next door and a lot of cement dust was flying about. I assumed this is what had caused the scale so at the end of the summer I emptied the pool and cleaned everything with acid tile cleaner which worked brilliantly.
Year 2 I had the same problem and on investigation discovered what looked like cement sludge the consistency of modelling clay in the top of the filter sitting on top of the filter media. I assumed that whilst I had removed the scale from the pool over the winter that some of the cement had remained in the filter and had returned to the pool once I had it running again. At the end of the second summer I again emptied the pool and cleaned everything with the acid tile cleaner. I also discovered that the installer had not bothered with proper filter media but had used sand straight off the beach!! I ended up replacing the entire filter with correct filter sand.