More white flakes appearing

Total hardness and calcium hardness in pool water.
Scale, calcium buildup, hard water and scaling problems.
HBLabs
I'm new here
I'm new here

More white flakes appearing

Postby HBLabs » Wed 08 Aug, 2007 12:31

I'm a newbie, and maybe that's my problem, but here goes:

We are first-time pool owners. We have a 40,000 gallon pool. Originally the pool was chlorine, which we converted to saltwater about 3 months ago. The two weeks was great, but then we started seeing white flakes in the spa. We thought it was from the solar heater and somehow by converting the pool, it had changed the chemistry and we were getting calcium flakes. I also noticed a white line become more apparent on the rocks where the waterline is. I'm thinking that is scale. It's become thicker and I can't even scrub it off with a metal brush.

We also were having a hard time keeping the chlorine level where it needed to be. We were shocking the pool each week and when we would bring the water in to be tested by Leslie's, it would read as though we had no chlorine in it.

We are now using a pool company that checks the chemical levels in our pool each week. This morning they said the alkalinity was up, so they added acid. Is there something specific to my problem that I should have them check for each week? They don't know what to make of the flakes.

We have 2 labs that love to be in the water every chance they get. We were told this is the reason why we don't have chlorine in the pool. I guess their fur soaks it all up. I turned up the level on our salt monitor to 3200 and I think we've taken care of that. When they go in the pool that day, we run the system until we go to bed that night or we run it all night depending on how long they were in the pool.