Looking for opinions on what caused these stains in a gunite pool...

Stains on the pool surfaces, pool equipment
or on the swimmers, or off-color swimming pool
water. Discolored but clear pool water.
Swimmingly
I'm new here
I'm new here

Looking for opinions on what caused these stains in a gunite pool...

Postby Swimmingly » Mon 17 Oct, 2016 21:42

Hi all,

I'm new to both this forum and pool ownership. I would like to get your experienced opinions on what might have caused these stains in my pool. I have a 7,000 gallon gunite pool which has been under the care of a local pool company. The pool is almost 2 years old (though I've only owned it a short time) and it has looked beautiful until very recently. I left town for 6 days and upon my return, I found these big splotchy stains in the bottom of the pool (some sprinkled stains on the steps too).

I'd appreciate your thoughts as to what could have caused this.

Thanks!

Denniswiseman
Pool Industry Leader
Pool Industry Leader
My Pool: 10k inground fibreglass, Telescopic Cover, Hayward Powerline pump, Quality filter with glass media, 27kw output heat pump, K-2006C test kit

Re: Looking for opinions on what caused these stains in a gunite pool...

Postby Denniswiseman » Tue 18 Oct, 2016 04:53

If your pool is under the care of a pool company why haven't they dealt with it unless you have taken it over yourself
I suspect that it is Algae as it only developed over 6 days
Try rubbing a trichlor puck over it and see if it removes it, if it does it's organic (algae) if not rub some ascorbic acid over it (vitamin C) if it does it's mineral (metal staining)
The other thing it could be Calcium. You would need to use Muriatic acid, pour a little over a shallow part of the pool (steps) and see if it goes. Don't leave it there to long as it will eat into your surfce
How do you test (strips and pool store numbers aren't that accurate)
Can you let us have a full set of numbers
FC:
TC:
pH:
TA:
CH:
CYA:
Pool chemicals: