Stains on the pool surfaces, pool equipment
or on the swimmers, or off-color swimming pool
water. Discolored but clear pool water.
Erin22
I'm new here
I'm new here

Iron in water

Postby Erin22 » Fri 01 Jul, 2005 23:41

I have a 15x3-1/2 ft easy set pool from wally world...and i also have LOTS of Iron in my well water...I've been battling with it for about a month now..went to a pool store and they gave me pool magnet and told me to put 7lbs of alkalinty plus in it..So I did..pool cleared up in no time..Still had a green tint to it..But, that was better than coffee brown..A few days later it turned brown again...I think it was because i put algeacide in it...So, there i go off to walmart to get Stain and scale remover and more alkalinty plus..(im a newbie)...Worked for about 2 wks..Then, I put MORE algeacide in it...it turned green..Sooo..about a week ago..I put MORE stain and scale remover and 7 more lbs of alkalinity plus in it..it stayed green...the metals settled to the bottom of the pool..and i was constantly cleaning my filter..But, the filter got to where not much brown was coming off of it...I would try to vacuum the metals off the bottom of the pool..But, that didnt work..Its like powder..I was told about a hose filter..went around to every hardware store and they looked at me like I was crazy..I've tried putting a sock over my water hose..EVERYTHING!!! Today I got tired of looking at the green and let all the water out of the pool..So, here's what I plan to do..Tomorrow when i am filling the pool again...Im gonna put bleach in..Then the stain and scale remover from wally world (or should I get the pool magnet again?) But, what about adding chemicals..like SHOCK? Thats gonna make my water brown again isnt it? I dont know..PLEASEEEEEE HELP!!!

Postby Guest » Thu 07 Jul, 2005 19:59