Annoying black algue stain that cannot be brushed at the bottom of the pool?

Stains on the pool surfaces, pool equipment
or on the swimmers, or off-color swimming pool
water. Discolored but clear pool water.
marc.tremblay
Pool Enthusiast
Pool Enthusiast
My Pool: Above ground, 21 ft

Annoying black algue stain that cannot be brushed at the bottom of the pool?

Postby marc.tremblay » Sat 01 Jun, 2019 08:43

Hi all! I've been maintaining my above ground pool for 4 years and I have never needed help maintaining a crystal clear water and superb liner, but now I feel like I do for the first time.

My specs: 21 ft above ground pool with vinyl liner. Typical residential sand filter and pump.

There is an approx. 4 ft2 black stain that appeared in September last year at the bottom of my above ground pool. I thought that after winter it would go away with everything I do to open the pool in the spring (cleaning, brushing, shocking, adding half of the pool's volume water) ... but no, it's still there.

Here is everything I know about this issue so far:

1) Brushing this (even applying force when brushing) does not change a single thing. It's not coming off AT ALL.

2) I then read online that it could be some oxydized metal particles depositing there, so I purchased and used 250ml of this Stain&Scale bottle, but it didn't change a single thing, so it looks like it's not a metal stain:

3) I also read online that it could be black algue and that directly depositing granulated chlorine on top of the stain using a pipe and waiting a couple hours could help. It COMPLETELY removed the stain! 2 weeks later, the stain re-appeared, same location, same size, same color, same thing all over again. Tried this once more and it exactly yielded the same results again, it disappeared for 1-2 weeks and then re-appeared same size, same location.

Am I doomed? Is there a way to permanently get rid of what seems like black algue?

Manganese? (maybe Stain&Scale does not solubilize manganese?)