Pool won't stay blue!

Stains on the pool surfaces, pool equipment
or on the swimmers, or off-color swimming pool
water. Discolored but clear pool water.
MiamiSun

Pool won't stay blue!

Postby MiamiSun » Sun 07 May, 2006 17:54

I am new to the pool thing so it is very possible I am missing a step here but for the life of me I cannot get the pool to stay blue!

I've vacuumed, chlorinated, used acid, shocked, stabilized, chlorinated more, vacuumed again, shocked again, etc etc, and the pool water turns green after four days. I know the chemicals should be lasting longer than this! The water tests normal and my pool supply store said it probably needed stabilizer, which I added (again) to make the chlorine last longer, but it's not working.

What am I doing wrong and/or what else can I try??

Pool Helper

Algea pool problem

Postby Pool Helper » Mon 08 May, 2006 02:22

my pool supply store said it probably needed stabilizer, which I added (again)

Perhaps you should have the level checked. Too much stabilizer prevents the chlorine from doing its job (chlorine lock).

The Pool Wizard Mineral system definitely keeps pools blue by preventing algea growth. There are other mineral systems too which will make pool maintenance easier.
PoolProfessional

Pool Won't Stay Blue

Postby PoolProfessional » Tue 13 Jun, 2006 22:53

If no-one has figured it out yet it sounds like mustard algea. Chlorine doesn't kill the algea, cleaning the pool helps make the water look better but within a day or two it ends up looking like it did before you spent hours cleaning the pool.