Switching from Chlorine to SWG

SWGs, salt water chlorine generators, chlorinators,
ozone generators, UV systems, . . .
Visitor

Postby Visitor » Tue 16 Dec, 2008 19:02

We're planning to switch from chlorine/acid to SWG/acid for pool sanitizers.

Now, I'm new to this whole pool maintenance position, serving a retirement home of about 250 residents, and an apartment block of similar size.

I'm told SWG will be easier to manage, more reliable, and eliminate issues of "hazardous" chemical. Agree?

Any downsides?

I've been all over the internet the last 2 months training myself on pools generally, pool chemistry, and on our current chlorine system. Now I get this SWG wrinkle tossed in!

I don't expect any big "re-education" in the chemistry, but I'm less certain about the impact on all the filters, heaters and plumbing for the pool and the hot tub. All facilities are indoor, eastern Canada. Equipment ranges in age from cast iron pipes for deck drainage (about 40 years old), to seemingly "recent" filtration and heat exchangers (certainly nothing newer than 5 years. [Staff and management turnover leaves me no-one to turn to for history of the hardware.])

Any "heads up" warnings?

Thanks, for any thoughts!

Ike

chem geek
Pool Industry Leader
Pool Industry Leader

Postby chem geek » Tue 16 Dec, 2008 21:19

What type of chlorine were you using before? Since you said chlorine/acid, I assume it was a hypochlorite source of chlorine such as Cal-Hypo or chlorinating liquid (sodium hypochlorite). You shouldn't have needed to add very much acid when using a hypochlorite source of chlorine. If you were, then that means your Total Alkalinity (TA) was too high.