algaecide, brightener, dichlor, sodium hypo,
sodium bisulfate, ....??
Denis
I'm new here
I'm new here
My Pool: My pool is 18 feet by 35 feet . 3 feet depth to 10 foot

Alkalinity Test Gone Wrong

Postby Denis » Tue 12 Dec, 2017 17:53

I have been having this problem just Lately checking my pool water, Mind you I have been checking pool water for at least 25 years that's how long I have owned pools. I had a pump burn up so I ordered another but while waiting for my new pump to arrive I decided to check the pool water so I could cover it for the year.
My problem is while checking the Alkalinity with my Taylor test kit I filled the container to 25 like it says then added my first to chem's which turns the color Green, then comes the problem I add the next chem drop at a time and it should turn from Green to Red I keep adding the third chem but it never turns Red it just turns like a light Gold color. Any ides.? :oops:

Teapot
Pool Industry Leader
Pool Industry Leader
My Pool: 12 x 24 (45m3) liner pool, Triton TR60 filter with AFM glass media (Activate) and variable speed pump running 0.08HP

Re: Alkalinity Test Gone Wrong

Postby Teapot » Wed 13 Dec, 2017 03:02

Hi Denis,
I am not familiar with the Taylor test kits but with any test kit are the reagents in date? That hes been the only time I have known issues with any testers except electronic failures on photometers.
I used YouTube and maybe you should double check with the technique? Failing that an alternative test to see what level (hi, mid low) or give Taylor a call number at the end of the video.
https://youtu.be/YJH2XQ5xx7o
Denniswiseman
Pool Industry Leader
Pool Industry Leader
My Pool: 10k inground fibreglass, Telescopic Cover, Hayward Powerline pump, Quality filter with glass media, 27kw output heat pump, K-2006C test kit

Postby Denniswiseman » Wed 13 Dec, 2017 03:14

Hi Denis

I use the Taylor test kit with no problems