leak too close to call?

Leaks in the pool, plumbing, filtration system, skimmer, ...
Finding & repairing swimming pool leaks.
luigy39
I'm new here
I'm new here

leak too close to call?

Postby luigy39 » Fri 15 Sep, 2017 19:19

I've have been a pool owner for only 2 years and I have been visiting these forums for some time to learn how to take care of my pool, but this is my first time posting. I had a leak last year that was easily fixed, as I found it in one of the tiles that returns the water from the jacuzzi to the pool.

Last week I noticed that the pool was loosing more water than usual, so I ran a test and the pool is loosing about (3/8" with the pool 24 hours off) and (4/8" with the pool 24 hours on) it seems to be too close for me to know what's really going on. is this water loss difference big enough to conclude that I have a problem in the plumbing? Any advise will be appreciated.

I want to make sure that I used the right method for the test as well, when I finished the test for the 24 hour cycle with the pool in the off mode I made a line of the results and did not add water back to the original level when I started the test, I just measured from the first result's line in order to get the results of the 24 hour on test which gave me the 1/4" difference.

By the way the jacuzzi does not loose any water at all, I closed it for 48 hours and the water stayed at the same level

Should I do this test again?

Denniswiseman
Pool Industry Leader
Pool Industry Leader
My Pool: 10k inground fibreglass, Telescopic Cover, Hayward Powerline pump, Quality filter with glass media, 27kw output heat pump, K-2006C test kit

Re: leak too close to call?

Postby Denniswiseman » Sun 17 Sep, 2017 01:45

The difference between 3/8" and 4/8" is 1/8"
What is your location is it hot as you can lose 1/4" daily
The best way to test is with a bucket test and check the difference between the two
luigy39
I'm new here
I'm new here

Postby luigy39 » Sun 17 Sep, 2017 12:48