Cheap way to vari-speed pump

Pool pumps, pool filters and the plumbing of
swimming pools. Sand filters, cartridge filters,
fabric filters and alternative filter media.
Phil.c
Swimming Pool Pro
Swimming Pool Pro
My Pool: 28' x 10' indoor, liner, oil heater, sand filter.

Cheap way to vari-speed pump

Postby Phil.c » Mon 12 Oct, 2020 02:11

First, let me say that I'm not an electrician, but I thought I'd try controlling my speed pump.

There are a few controllers out there like Certikin (around £350) that control speed and also have automation built in but they are usually expensive. I bought a cheap voltage controller (link below) just to try.
It was just a case of plugging it in and then plugging the pump to it with the multi socket on the front of the unit, it has pro's and con's, the pro's, it works fine, by lowering the voltage with the dial, the pump can be run very slowly, but care has to be taken not to run it at a speed which could cut it out, slow running does make the pump a little more noisy though, but all is fine so far.

The problems arise not with the unit but with modern trip fuses; I found that the pump would only run at slow speed for a few minutes before the fuse tripped out, I could only get it to stay on with the voltage as low as 165v, below that it trips. I guess that it would run a lot slower with the old wire fuses.

So, even though the speed couldn't be reduced any slower, it still runs at around three quarter speed which still adds better filtration and saves money, I would guess that even the more expensive units would still trip the fuse, but as I previously said, I'm not an electrician, but I've spoken to one and he agrees.

So to sum up, the unit is cheep but of good quality, and it now runs my pump at a slower speed.

Just thought this might be usefull info for anyone thinking of a speed control.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/AC-220V-4000 ... fresh=true

Teapot
Pool Industry Leader
Pool Industry Leader