Is grren always algae?

Algae problems in swimming pool water.
Green (cloudy) water or slimy pool walls.
Black algae. Mustard algae. Pink or white pool mold.
vjpool
Pool Enthusiast
Pool Enthusiast

Is grren always algae?

Postby vjpool » Sat 30 Jun, 2007 11:35

I'm very new to this and my pool water is still light green. Yesterday, I vaccuumed, backwashed, rinsed and shocked. Results-light green, slightly cloudy water.
My readings this a.m.:
Hardness-250
TC-10+ (I will purchase the kit that reads higher-I believe it's higher because the color is much darker than the comparison on strip bottle)
FC-10+ (same explanation as for the TC)
pH-7.2
TA-80
CA-150

I went to the pool store to buy algacide but keep thinking from various posts here, that it might not help. Am I misreading something? Please help. Thanks.

vjpool
Pool Enthusiast
Pool Enthusiast

Is grren always algae? more info

Postby vjpool » Sat 30 Jun, 2007 11:36

I forgot to mention that my pool is inground 16x32 gunite.

Postby Guest » Sat 30 Jun, 2007 13:44

:!:

Postby Guest » Sat 30 Jun, 2007 13:48

I woke up yesterday to a green tinge in my pebble tech 12000 gal pool. Come to find out the chorine frog was empty. I quickly went to the pool store and they had me get 2 bags of smart shock and of course some more chlorine. Since I could still see the bottom of the pool, they were sure it would solve the problem. By the end of the day my water was clear again. Maybe that will help you? Hopefully you have already solved your problem though since this was a few days ago.

From now on I am going use that particular shock when ever I need to shock it!
vjpool
Pool Enthusiast
Pool Enthusiast

Postby vjpool » Sat 30 Jun, 2007 14:02

On my original question, is green always algae? Also, what's the difference between shock and chlorine? Not to sound silly, but I thought they were the same.
chem geek
Pool Industry Leader
Pool Industry Leader

Postby chem geek » Sat 30 Jun, 2007 16:55