green water in my quick up pool

Algae problems in swimming pool water.
Green (cloudy) water or slimy pool walls.
Black algae. Mustard algae. Pink or white pool mold.
angelaarmstrong

Postby angelaarmstrong » Fri 13 Jul, 2007 15:49

Have been a bit distracted by family tragidy and only just realised the pool has turned green. I am a complete beginner at this - first time pool owner. Because my 10 year old is allergic to most chemicals I use planet pool active oxygen and algicide special. Only I forgot to put them in for the past month (and it rained every day).
I understand that I should 'shock' treat the water which inspite of the rain had half evaporated anyway. So my 18'x12'x4' oval pool is only about 3' deep at the moment. I shocked with 250g of active oxygen and 100ml of algicide special. That was 4 hours ago. Should anything have changed yet.

Backglass
Swimming Pool Superstar
Swimming Pool Superstar

Postby Backglass » Sat 14 Jul, 2007 10:15

<dupe>
Backglass
Swimming Pool Superstar
Swimming Pool Superstar

Postby Backglass » Sat 14 Jul, 2007 10:18

Using your test kit, please post a full set of numbers so we can see where you are at.

That way we can give real advice rather than guessing.

Is your son violently allergic to chlorine? A properly chlorinated pool has only 3 parts chlorine to every million parts of water and is what you need at this moment.
angelaarmstrong

Postby angelaarmstrong » Sat 14 Jul, 2007 14:46

ok I have one of those test kits and the ph is 8.0 and the O2 is looking like it is 15 or more

I can now see things wiggling in the water - lava? and I was getting ready to empty the pool but have discovered that the water empty outlet is a 1 1/4 inch male rather than the 1 inch we use for our hose pipe connections.

I now have a big pond instead of a swimming pool!
angelaarmstrong

Postby angelaarmstrong » Sat 14 Jul, 2007 16:39