Green pool water still

Algae problems in swimming pool water.
Green (cloudy) water or slimy pool walls.
Black algae. Mustard algae. Pink or white pool mold.
readforfun
I'm new here
I'm new here
My Pool: 18X36, 24,0000 gallons, Vinyl, in-ground, sand filter, 1hp pump

Green pool water still

Postby readforfun » Thu 02 Jul, 2009 08:51

I have been working on this problem for a while today is the 7th day. I have made numerous trip to the pool store. My water is green to describe it best is like green particles suspended in a think solution. I am new to having problems with my pool so please bear with me.I have the readings from three different days at the pool store. My pump runs 24/7 & it's 3yrs old. I have been vacuuming to waste, backwashing and refilling.
6/26-Temp 78, Sat Idx -0.1, TDS 8000, CYA 151, TC 1.2, FC 1.1, ph 7.6, tot alk. 180, adj tot alk, 135, tot hardness 116. From that I was told to add 4 lbs Burn Out Extreme, 32oz Banish--did it & of course we had a storm, but next morning problem is worse--now I can't see my bottom main drains.
6/27--shocked again
6/28 can't remember if I add chemicals to be honest but used Strip Swik on sand
6/29 pool store temp 74, Sat ind -.02, TDS 700, CYA 105, TC 10, FC 20, pH 7.5, Tot alk 134, Adj tot alk 102, tot hardness 165, Copper .5 (pool store said it was from Banish) Shocked and Banished again
6/30 pool store tem 74, Sat -0.1, TDS 680, CYA 110, Tota 10, FC 10, pH 7.6, tot alk 160, adj tot alk 127, tot hardness 124. Bought Optimizer Plus--48 lbs and Lo 'N Slo--24 lbs
7/01 shocked again-- I have added around 14 lbs of shock total to date.
7/02 Maybe getting a litte better but still can't see bottom.

chem geek
Pool Industry Leader
Pool Industry Leader

Green pool water still

Postby chem geek » Thu 02 Jul, 2009 10:06

Your CYA level is too high and needs partial drain/refill to lower it. Read Defeating Algae.
readforfun
I'm new here
I'm new here

Green pool water still

Postby readforfun » Thu 02 Jul, 2009 20:03