Boss said "Pool will not turn with high chl lvls!" True?

Algae problems in swimming pool water.
Green (cloudy) water or slimy pool walls.
Black algae. Mustard algae. Pink or white pool mold.
wolfman83661

Postby wolfman83661 » Sun 04 Oct, 2009 14:37

Hi there,

Got a question on algae and chlorine. I recently took over pool maintenance for the property that I work as a tech at in Tucson. I have no no previous experience with working with pools and thou I passed the pool certification for the city I still did not feel I was a experienced pool tech.
Anyways after about 4 months of maintaining the pool as per my immediate supervisors instructions, which stayed nice and clear and clean, it turned on me over the weekend. Or I assumed it was starting to, there was a slight greenish tint to the water and it wasnt its normal crystal clear to the main drain clean. I started with flushing the pool a couple times, vaccuming it then flushing again a couple times then shocking it with 1 bag (24k gal per pack, pool was guesstimated at 25k or so max) and dumping in 1 gal of liquid chlorine. The next day I repeated the process except I ran out of liquid so I dumped in 1 bag of shock early in the day and 1 in later the day. I did not see any progress at that time till on the 3rd day we got more chlorine in to which I dumped in 2 gallons of liquid and 1 bag of shock (I had found 2 buckets of old shock, the previous days I used the oldest of the old shock, the 3rd day I used the newer looking old shock). The 4th day it was definately clearer, I continued the flushing, vac and 1 bag of shock 2 gal chlorine routine (which was recommened by the big boss). The 5th day it was nearly back to its previous glory and I continued the process for that day and the next 2, then cut down the amount of flushing and lessened the amount of chlorine.