Sand filter expanding

Automatic pool cleaners, vacuum heads, pool covers,
decks, fencing, pool alarms and security ....
susaninland
I'm new here
I'm new here
My Pool: 10 mt x 15mt chlorine pool with sand filter

Sand filter expanding

Postby susaninland » Thu 15 Mar, 2012 15:28

Hi all, i am a newbie to both the site and pool maintenance so not complicated technical words here!!!
I have a 10x15 mt pool, the ex owner ran the pump 24/7 a bit excessive in my opinion we are souther spain and dont have major heat in winter etc so we reduced the timer to 3 hrs for winter in our week abcense we came back to find a green pool, so after advice we shocked with chlorine on a 24 hr pump cycle then we added foc with pump off, when we came to hoover the bottom we had no suction in the hoover, we tried shutting off the botttom drain but that starved the pump so we again on advice hoovered on filter but backwashed approx 4 times as we cleaned. We then left it running overnight on filter end result crystal clear pool, one week later decided to hoover the bottom again to keep it green free once completed switched port to backwash and the sand filter expanded as though it was about to pop, the pressure guage was up at the top end of the red so shut it down immediatley, tried rinse and filter mode and it runs in the yellow but in back wash it still swells up. The final straw after testing all the filter rinse backwash modes went back to pool to be greeted by a woodland pond!!! all the dirty water had gone back into the pool via the jets!!! arrgghh! so i have switched everything off and now using this forum to ask if anyone has an idea of what is next, if i continue to let the backwash run will it explode do i need to do anything or basically what do i do next? I appreciate all your comments, solutions or suggestions but please dont advise me to run the backwash mode if you are not sure as i dont want it to explode and wipe out my pool kit thanks

Sand filter expanding