That 'ole parts conundrum

Automatic pool cleaners, vacuum heads, pool covers,
decks, fencing, pool alarms and security ....
AussieSwimmer
Pool Enthusiast
Pool Enthusiast
My Pool: Inground pool, no history, aprox 24,000 gallons, with Merlin vinyl liner. Taylor TF100 test kit.

That 'ole parts conundrum

Postby AussieSwimmer » Mon 28 Mar, 2022 09:27

Does this sound familiar?

Simple plastic part broken (Pentair 'Clean & Clear' cartridge filter locking ring). The chase begins - the recommended dealers have no clue, back to Pentair, they point me to a parts distributor that won't talk to me unless I'm a contractor.

No go on Amazon.

While I wait to see if anyone has a lead on this forum, I'm going to warm up my tubes of JB Weld and see if I can fashion some kind of temporary repair. Why oh why do we get pushed into these time consuming BS routines? Good luck with your Spring repairs!!

24,000 gal in-ground pool.
Ongoing restoration work (previously abandoned)
Taylor TF100 test kit
Silver Spring, MD
USA
Teapot1
Pool Industry Leader
Pool Industry Leader
My Pool: 12000 gallons vinyl liner,

Re: That 'ole parts conundrum

Postby Teapot1 » Tue 29 Mar, 2022 11:56

Time to change to a sand filter filled Not with sand but Dr Drydens AFM ng filtration media. Simply the best, saves money on cartridges, will give you the best water quality lower chlorine consumption.
https://www.drydenaqua.com/afm/afm-ng

PS don't by Pentair, stuff breaks.
I may not give you the answer you want to hear, but I will give an honest opinion of your situation as you decribe it.
AussieSwimmer
Pool Enthusiast
Pool Enthusiast
My Pool: Inground pool, no history, aprox 24,000 gallons, with Merlin vinyl liner. Taylor TF100 test kit.

Postby AussieSwimmer » Tue 29 Mar, 2022 16:07

Hello Teapot1,

Interesting - have sent the company an inquiry.