ANY ADVISE IS APPRECIATED!!!!

Discussions that do not fit into any of the
swimming pool categories and general topics.
sumthenspshl

ANY ADVISE IS APPRECIATED!!!!

Postby sumthenspshl » Sat 29 Apr, 2006 19:47

Hello, please bare with me I have ZERO pool experience. I have just purchased a home from the court system. This house has been in the court system for 6 months and due to cold weather I know it has been longer than that since the pool/spa has been maintained. I have 2 problems, with this house came an inground pool and a hot tub spa. And absolutly no paperwork on these items. I was TOLD that the pool is the kind that does not have a liner. And it is GREEN with algae and wildlife is living in it. Also it does have a tent type cover to help keep the leaves out stuff like that. My question is what is my first step. I have read several internet sites and I understand about the chemicals. But should I drain the pool? Or should I shock the pool? Also does any one have any suggestions on how to clean the tent over the pool? My other problem is the spa, I also have ZERO experience with spa and again I have been reading but it has water in the spa and it has been running this entire time. When I opened the cover it smells like mildew. Now I am not sure if it is the cover that has mildewed or if it is the actual water. Again, do I drain this or do I treat it with something. I personally would like to drain it and clean it but i do not know if that is bad for the machine. PLEASE, ANY ADVISE WOULD BE GREAT!!!! THANK YOU IN ADVAN

Pool help

Postby Guest » Mon 01 May, 2006 02:17

I do think the smell of mildew comes from your cover. I bought a above gound pool 4 weeks ago and have had such a hard time getting answers but think I have leaned much more by going to my local chemical supply store, at least in a month I have kept it clean and no one has green hair!!!When I searched for good fourms this was number 1.
DEPET

Postby DEPET » Fri 26 May, 2006 10:54