Advice for solar heating on unusually high roof

Electric heaters, gas heaters, heat pumps,
solar heaters, geothermal heating, solar pool
covers and wood-burning pool heating equipment.
alan_k
I'm new here
I'm new here
My Pool: 12' round above ground

Advice for solar heating on unusually high roof

Postby alan_k » Sun 30 May, 2021 00:45

Hello All! I'm new to pools, I have 2 little girls (3 and 6) and had high hopes to add an above-ground pool to our backyard to deal with these hot summers. I bought a 12' round above-ground pool but now realize I have a problem: My backyard has a giant tree which keeps the whole area in complete shade. I literally have nowhere in the yard which gets any sun. I could just heat the thing electrically but I'm deeply (my wife would say obsessively) concerned with climate change so the natural answer would be a solar pool heater (of the Fafco type) on the roof and a good thermal blanket over the pool when not being used. My roof slopes 45 degrees and faces WSW. The problem is, my roof is ~30 feet above the pool, and this would require tremendous energy to push the water up only to let it fall back down. As I understand it, I can't use siphon action to get all that lifting energy back because it would collapse the tubes on the panel. I thought maybe I could use a heat exchanger on the roof to get the heat from the panels into the pool water. That is, run ABS pipes from the pool up to the roof and into the shell side of a tube-and-shell heat exchanger then back down so that siphon action would require minimal energy to get my pool water up to the roof and back. Then have a separate low-volume pump on the roof itself which pumps the warm panel water through the heat exchanger tubes. The question would be, are heat exchangers effective enough at getting the heat from the panel loop into the pool water loop? Or is there some better way I can create a low-energy method of heating the pool given my unfortunate limitations? Thanks so much!