Efficient use of pool heater

Electric heaters, gas heaters, heat pumps,
solar heaters, geothermal heating, solar pool
covers and wood-burning pool heating equipment.
staudtlar
I'm new here
I'm new here
My Pool: large community pool, approx. 50' X 20', in-ground, gas heater

Postby staudtlar » Wed 04 Mar, 2009 13:38

I live in a condominium in Florida. We have an in-ground pool approximately 50' X 20' with a gas heater. In the winter, the nights are often much cooler than the day (around 60 degrees at night and 80 degrees in the day). The board has installed a timer that shuts off the pump and the heater at night in order to save gas. I am a retired chemist and tried to tell them that this does not save any gas. It just takes longer for the pool to heat up in the morning and the number of BTUs to heat the water is the same as if the heater had been left on all night.

Can you confirm or deny my theory?

Larry
Pool Forums Admin
My Pool: Pool Pro
Exclusively tiled concrete pools

Postby Larry » Wed 04 Mar, 2009 15:28

We have found that turning the heater off at night allows the water to cool rapidly. The heater then has to burn at a higher rate in the morning to make up the lost heat.

The higher you turn the burner the lower the heating efficiency and the greater the heat loss from the exhaust gases.

Month on month we have found that turning the heat off at night costs an extra 10% - 20% in fuel due the this heating inefficiency. A slow steady burn is actually more economical.

Have you considered an insulating cover? That would cut heat loss (and heating costs) drastically.
staudtlar
I'm new here
I'm new here

Postby staudtlar » Thu 05 Mar, 2009 12:29

Thank you for your response. That is just what I thought. Unfortunately a pool cover is not an option for us because of the odd shape of the pool, the lack of deck space for a roller, and the lack of a person willing to cover and uncover.

I will forward your information to the board.
Larry
Pool Forums Admin