Equipment on but jets aren't working

The basics of swimming pool maintenance.
New swimming pool owner's questions.
Help getting started with daily pool care.
Corry

Postby Corry » Tue 05 Apr, 2011 11:55

I am new to caring for a pool. We just had a terrible rain and my pool is now bright green. I replaced the chlorine tabs and emptied the filter that is next to the equipment. At first the jets were not working at all, but after I cleaned this filter they seem to be just barely working. There is hardly any pressure behing the jets. I called my old roommate and he said I should backwash it. Would this help or does it sound like a bad pump?

POOLTECH420
I'm new here
I'm new here
My Pool: WORK FOR A POOL CONSTUCTION COMPANY

Postby POOLTECH420 » Tue 05 Apr, 2011 22:11

Do the backwash and if this dosn't work!!then im going to need to know what method of filtration you are useing!!thank you

Postby Guest » Wed 06 Apr, 2011 19:18

I agree with pooltech420 in backwashing first, but when I would have this problem after a sudden rainfall, I'd shock it with liquid chlorine with the filtration system operating. there are 3 basic filtration setups:

1. Sand (least efficient)
2. Cartridge (better than sand, not as good as D.E.)
3. D.E. (Diatemaceous earth---most efficient of the 3 types)