Complete noob and this pool hasn't been used in months

The basics of swimming pool maintenance.
New swimming pool owner's questions.
Help getting started with daily pool care.
PlasticBlue

Postby PlasticBlue » Mon 30 May, 2011 13:22

Ok so I just bought a house and it had a pool that hadn't been used in at least 7 months. The house was vacant for 6 before I finally got the keys last week. Anyway I finally got some help on the pool (this was a pain) everything seems to be working ok except for a couple things I'm not sure about.

First... I was told that the PSI should not go above 3-4... 5 is too high. But it never goes below 10 and usually stays at 15 but depends on how I have the valves... the filters were a huge mess but after cleaning them off, they seemed pretty good. The thing on the filter says maximum working PSI: 50... so is it ok to run it like that?

Also, it's a pool and a side spa... I notice the valves control which "skimmer" to open (I'm not sure what they're called... the little place on the sidewalk where there's a little basket where water from the pool flows into and then gets sucked to the filter). So one way, the pool works, the other, the side spa, leave it in the middle and they both open but the suction isnt as strong. Do you usually do one and then the other or is ok to leave it in the middle and do both? And I'm not sure what the second valve does... I was guessing it open and closes the jets that shoot the water back into the pool/spa? I thought so at least but I couldn't really notice much difference turning that one.

It was a short sale house and I never spoke with the owner at all so I have like no info on this thing at all and all I was told was that it worked. I did have some help figuring this stuff out and the chemicals and stuff but it's been a headache. I didn't know waht I was getting into buying my first house. I think after I get everything situated and stuff though it should be ok.