I've inherited a mosquito-breeding pool.

The basics of swimming pool maintenance.
New swimming pool owner's questions.
Help getting started with daily pool care.
DewiMorgan
I'm new here
I'm new here
My Pool: A 25'x15' mosquito pit.

Postby DewiMorgan » Fri 30 Sep, 2011 16:09

Problem:
At my workplace, the guy who used to look after the pool and grounds recently died. So, because I'm now the only guy in the company, I inherited his job. Because that's how life works.

Now, I'm a computer programmer. I come from the UK. What I know about pools could be written on the back of a postage stamp with a Crayola.

The pool is overhung by trees. For the last few weeks, I've been scooping the worst of the leaves off the top, but there's a ton of leaf-mold on the bottom, the water's so impenetrably green you could mistake it for mashed cabbage, and if you look too closely at the murky depths, you realize that there are about enough mosquito larvae in there to feed the whole bat population of Austin for a year. And that lots of them have hatched and are flying around. Turns out that while I have developed an immunity to UK mosquitoes, Texan ones give me bites the size of an egg. I now have dozens of them. I look like the elephant man.

So, here's my problem:
- Texas has a water ban. So, no emptying the pool and refilling it.
- Apparently the pool will collapse or something if it's just left emptied. I'm not allowed to.
- There's no company budget to do anything at all to it.
- I might get away with spending a few bucks of my own, but I don't even know what to do. At the most, my budget is going to be $15/month, though. Money's kinda tight.

I know what I *want*. I want to kill the mosquitoes before they get out the water, so I'm thinking of buying a few bottles of bleach ($1 for 4 litres at the dollar store, not bad!) and just pouring them in. But I don't know if that's a Really Bad Idea, or what.