Hello From Nicaragua

The basics of swimming pool maintenance.
New swimming pool owner's questions.
Help getting started with daily pool care.
flames9
I'm new here
I'm new here

Hello From Nicaragua

Postby flames9 » Fri 06 Jan, 2012 19:12

We had a fellow looking after our pool, but not sure if he is doing a good job. He is a nice fellow, but more or less self-taught. Our pool is approx 10,000L, rectangular shaped.

I have a fairly basic test kit--Hydrotools "Deluxe" kit. It tests the Clorine/Bromine and the alkalinity which is the pH.

Chemicals: Made by a company called SPIN.
ACID which should lower the Ph correct?
Alkalin. Which should raise the PH

Trizide, which is a combo of 3, chlorine, algea and something else

And then Clarity Plus, which I believe is used to clean the pool.

based on what I can test the only level that is out of whack is the pH! It appears to be around 8.2. So I need to lower that. My pool guy tells me to add ALKALIN?????? which makes no sense to me. Should I not be adding the ACID to lower the Ph??

As wel I was told to never add it directly to the pool, but always add it to the filter, is that correct? And then let it run for a few hrs.

I'm assuming that is the same for thew Clarity plus?? By the sounds of it, by adding the clarity plus, the "debris" sinks to the bottom and then one can vacuum it up.

Many Thanks, looking forward to learning more from this forum. Scott

chem geek
Pool Industry Leader
Pool Industry Leader

Hello From Nicaragua

Postby chem geek » Sat 07 Jan, 2012 03:06