Chlorine drop

The basics of swimming pool maintenance.
New swimming pool owner's questions.
Help getting started with daily pool care.
Pgkinno

Chlorine drop

Postby Pgkinno » Sun 17 Jun, 2007 21:07

Ok - I am a novice and any "duh" comments my way are ok - just need some un-baised help here please - ( and thank you for any response!)

Why would a perfectly clear - newly established pool - go from a desired stick reading of 3-4 to "0" 6 hours later ? pump running - pool 42" deep or less - in full sun - was shocked with a hth product (envelope) and has a 3" tab filter with the max exposure... all other readings normal - in the desired range????

AND - how dangerous is it to swim in the meantime?

Thank you for any help here!

Backglass
Swimming Pool Superstar
Swimming Pool Superstar

Postby Backglass » Sun 17 Jun, 2007 21:19

Hi,

I'm not sure what a "stick reading" is, but if you are talking chlorine levels it sounds like you don't have enough, or any CYA (aka stabilizer). Without any CYA, direct sun can remove all your chlorine in a few hours.
pgkinno

Postby pgkinno » Sun 17 Jun, 2007 21:34

I turned on the filter Friday night and have basically let it run since. This morning I placed a 3" tablet of chlorine in a floater AND shocked the pool with one of those "shock" packets you can buy at WalMart - (filter running - water clear (always was) skimmer thing working fine...) I tested water pre and post - all stayed the same except the CL levels. After I put in the 3" tablet/floater - i didn't see any difference in the CL levels - I then added the shock packet (which I diluted in a bucket before adding) - CL levels went up to what looks like normal levels - 3-4 ... Six hours later I tested the water again - Hardness, pH, Alkalinity, Cynuric acid all the same - EXCEPT - NO chlorine???? What happened and what do I need to do -

Current levels before and after shocking and a 3" chlorine floater are"