New to Pools - just opened

The basics of swimming pool maintenance.
New swimming pool owner's questions.
Help getting started with daily pool care.
Sf49168
Pool Enthusiast
Pool Enthusiast
My Pool: 16x32 Roman end pool.

New to Pools - just opened

Postby Sf49168 » Tue 07 May, 2019 20:04

Hello everyone.

I am new to pool ownership. Bought new house and had a 16x32 ft Rowan end pool. Had pool company come and open it ( don’t know anything bout it ) They filter is cracked / leaking in a few spots also. Hayward S200

So the pool was running for 3 1/3 days and deep end is still reallly dark. Shallow end is real dark but much lighter. the jets were off also it seemed today. I Shut filter down , restarted and they went on. As normal. Filter wasn’t leaking as much either ,( odd ). Water level was between 1st & 2nd screw on skimmers . Closer to 1st though.

I’m just wondering if I should do another shock /. What is real procedure for it ?

Maybe not enough water on pool (hence less leak ?)

Sorry for long Noval !

Thanks

Teapot
Pool Industry Leader
Pool Industry Leader
My Pool: 12 x 24 (45m3) liner pool, Triton TR60 filter with AFM glass media (Activate) and variable speed pump running 0.08HP

Re: New to Pools - just opened

Postby Teapot » Wed 08 May, 2019 01:43

Dennis will be along soon to explain SLAM. But go buy some liquid chlorine in readiness, you are going to need it, lots of it.
Denniswiseman
Pool Industry Leader
Pool Industry Leader
My Pool: 10k inground fibreglass, Telescopic Cover, Hayward Powerline pump, Quality filter with glass media, 27kw output heat pump, K-2006C test kit

Postby Denniswiseman » Wed 08 May, 2019 03:31

Hi Sf49168 and welcome

Here is the Slam process, with relation to your Chlorine / CYA Chart and recommended Pool Levels Follow it precisely, SLAM stands for shock level and maintain