In what order to add chemicals, and how to do it safely?

The basics of swimming pool maintenance.
New swimming pool owner's questions.
Help getting started with daily pool care.
Elle W
Pool Enthusiast
Pool Enthusiast
My Pool: in-ground,

In what order to add chemicals, and how to do it safely?

Postby Elle W » Mon 27 May, 2019 16:33

Problem: I'm new to pool care and have a newly replastered 7k-gallon pool. We started up with muriatic acid about 5 weeks ago. The pool company told us not to add any other chemicals until the pH stabilizes. It's still getting high, so we keep adding acid, but it also started to grow algae, so a couple days ago I shocked it, and now want to add the rest of the chemicals anyway. Questions regarding how to add chemicals:
1) do I add the 1" chlorine tablets into a dry floating dispenser, then drop the dispenser into the pool, or do I submerge the dispenser first and then add the tablets?
2) can I add CYA and chlorine at the same time, and if not, which goes in first, and how long to wait before adding the other?
3) how long to wait after adding muriatic acid before adding chlorine and/or cya, and should the floating chlorine dispenser be removed from the pool when adding acid?
4) I put in a pound of shock into the pool 2 days ago, and now TC and FC are back to zero (but it killed the algae and made the water pretty again). Should I shock again, or just add the normal chlorine?
5) TA is low right now, can I add baking soda along with the chlorine and/or cya, or do they needed to be added separately, and how long to wait in between?
6) Any other chemical safety issues to be aware of, besides the obvious (don't ingest or get it in eyes, I wear gloves and goggles when handling dangerous chemicals)

Thanks in advance to anyone who can help.

FC: very low
TC: very low
pH: 6.5 (was 8.0 this morning - added too much muriatic acid oops)
TA: 40
CH: 250
CYA: 0

My pool: 7,000 gallon in ground plaster pool with waterfall spa