Acceptable to use - stagnant water?

The basics of swimming pool maintenance.
New swimming pool owner's questions.
Help getting started with daily pool care.
AussieSwimmer
Pool Enthusiast
Pool Enthusiast
My Pool: Inground pool, no history, aprox 24,000 gallons, with Merlin vinyl liner. Taylor TF100 test kit.

Acceptable to use - stagnant water?

Postby AussieSwimmer » Tue 14 Apr, 2020 09:33

I am new to pool ownership. I am guessing that the rainwater that has collected into our pool has done so over the past year (of total neglect while the house was on the market, covering tarp having fallen in, etc). It is heavily loaded with leaves, mostly submerged, and with yet-to-be-discovered other materials at the bottom of the pool. (there's an entertainment factor at present - the frogs in there are quite musical at dusk!).

It does however perhaps comprise an existing 10,000 gals of water (the pool is about ⅓ full). Should I continue skimming out the muck in preparation for topping up the pool, or is it better to pump everything out, properly clean the vinyl liner, and start fresh?

Also : I spent an hour last night skimming muck both at surface and below, and I can see that it could take a few days of labour to get most material out. Assuming that it is possible to clean up the existing body of water, is it possible to rig some sort of water pump, then recycling the traveling water across a screen? That should be a much more efficient way to go. - Grant.

Terimarieg
I'm new here
I'm new here
My Pool: Above ground, sand filter

Re: Acceptable to use - stagnant water?

Postby Terimarieg » Thu 16 Apr, 2020 18:49