Pool maintenance (for beginners!)

The basics of swimming pool maintenance.
New swimming pool owner's questions.
Help getting started with daily pool care.
ntw
I'm new here
I'm new here
My Pool: home made backyard pool, 4 ft by 8 ft, 3.5 ft deep

Pool maintenance (for beginners!)

Postby ntw » Fri 31 Jul, 2020 22:16

I'm building a small above ground pool for my daughter for the summer. I'll save the construction questions for another thread and ask about maintenance here, as that's what worries me most (and that's the area new to me). The pool is 8ft by 4 ft and 4 feet deep. No pumping, just sanding water. This is a temporary pool that we'll use for 1-2 months. I'm new to pool maintenance and would love input on the following:
✓ I've read I should add chlorine, and I've got that covered but I've also read I need to add Algaecide, and should consider borax and bleach. would love to know more about this - When should I use these? How much? Why not just chlorine?

✓ resources re how to calculate how much chlorine to add given volume of pool?

✓ suggestions regarding pool water test kits vs strips?

✓ suggestions where to get a relatively cheap vinyl liner? I'm currently planning on doubling up two 16 mil tarps I have, but would love to use vinyl - as I assume this is waaaaay better than a poly tarp

Thanks!

Denniswiseman
Pool Industry Leader
Pool Industry Leader
My Pool: 10k inground fibreglass, Telescopic Cover, Hayward Powerline pump, Quality filter with glass media, 27kw output heat pump, K-2006C test kit

Re: Pool maintenance (for beginners!)

Postby Denniswiseman » Sat 01 Aug, 2020 02:50

It's not ideal not to filter water and if it's going to be re-used I would definately recommend it
Don't use copper algaecide as the effects aren't always desirable. Use a Polyquat 60
(Any brand as long as the ingredients are "Poly [oxyethylene (dimethyliminio) ethylene (dimethyliminio) ethylene dichloride" at 60% concentration.)
Use these common products to balance your pool