too much chlorine

The basics of swimming pool maintenance.
New swimming pool owner's questions.
Help getting started with daily pool care.
margaret

too much chlorine

Postby margaret » Mon 30 Jul, 2007 22:11

I am new at this. I have an 18x40 inground vinyl pool. Since opening this season, I can't seem to balance the chemicals. Chlorine is always high off the chart. I use 3" tabs in a chlorinator. I use borax and baking soda for ph and alkalinity. The chlorine is burning rapidly and I get a low reading on ph and alkalinity. Now I have mustard alge. I also had rust stains for which I crushed vitamin c tabs and sprinkled it in. It worked great. I don't know why I am burning chlorine. (I threw in like 2 boxes of borax and 4 boxes of baking soda, yet I get low readings) What could be the problem.
Thank you
Margaret, Manalapan, NJ

Backglass
Swimming Pool Superstar
Swimming Pool Superstar

Postby Backglass » Tue 31 Jul, 2007 08:43

You may have low or no CYA. Without any CYA, a pool can go from 20ppm to -0- in a few hours of direct sunlight. You may have high CYA that is preventing your chlorine from killing algae. It may be aliens. :lol:

To know for sure, use your test kit and post a full set of numbers so we can see where you are at.
===============================
I'm no expert...just a long time pool owner. The real experts are at www . troublefreepool . com

Download Bleachcalc free at troublefreepool . com /files/BleachCalc262.exe and start saving money on chemicals.
margaret

too much chlorine

Postby margaret » Tue 31 Jul, 2007 10:43

Thanks for the rapid reply. Just came from Leslie's pool store. here are my numbers- free chlor - 5+
ph- 7.0
alk - 50
cya - 45
(I use test strips myself and everything is low except chlor is 10+)
Yesterday Leslies gave me chlor neutralizer. Today chlor is still high
Leslies said to add 15 lbs of alkalinity up today and 4 lbs of soda ash