Swimquip Filter?

The basics of swimming pool maintenance.
New swimming pool owner's questions.
Help getting started with daily pool care.
Headhunter
I'm new here
I'm new here

Swimquip Filter?

Postby Headhunter » Thu 13 Sep, 2007 13:24

Hi All,
A brief into... Recently purchased a new to me home (June 28th 07) and I am now the proud owner of a 20 x 40 in-ground cement, with liner pool.
I have some limited experience with pools, as when I was young, we had an above ground pool.
Managed to make it through the summer without any real challenges, until this past weekend.
I had just finished vacuming the pool, emptied the pump basket, re-primed the system, than back washed. After back-washing, I turned the power off, turned the handle to filter and re-engaged the pump. I noticed immediately that a small stream of water began to flow out of the filter head, immediately below the filter handle.
I've inquired with a number of "pool experts", who have essentially begged off any kind of repair work, as they suggest that they can't get the parts. I understand that it's an "O" ring that must be replaced.
So, here's my questions to you folks;
1. Should I source an "O" ring myself and replace it myself... I'm reasonalby handy (not a great speller lol)
2. Is this a difficult job? Do you require a great deal of background knowledge to do this?
3. Should I just buy a new filter (quoted price of $500.00 Can. including install)
4. If I do go the route of a new filter, should I be looking at a sand filter or a cartrige filter?
Thanks for taking the time to read and respond! I look forward to reading your responses!
HH

pool doctor

Postby pool doctor » Wed 26 Sep, 2007 14:36