New home owner with pool who needs HELP!

The basics of swimming pool maintenance.
New swimming pool owner's questions.
Help getting started with daily pool care.
monicalovesherpool
I'm new here
I'm new here
My Pool: I have an inground concrete pool. It is my first and a dream come true. I don't know much about it and am hoping to learn.

Postby monicalovesherpool » Tue 20 Apr, 2010 18:41

Hi There!~

This is my first time owning a pool and I want to love it.
The previous owners left some water in the pool ( about 5 feet) and it is ugly and green and full of bugs.
I am not sure of the filter I have or pump or anything really.
I am not sure how to go about salvaging water. Also how can I see if my pump and filter work? Does the water need to be filled first?
should I skim and try to clean the water that is there before filling?
I am just a wreck and need some good advice.

Postby Guest » Sat 24 Apr, 2010 13:03

I'd suggest calling Family Leisure. We've always been happy getting our Pool Supplies from them and they are very helpful with answering questions. :wink:
harjun
I'm new here
I'm new here
My Pool: Polypool heat retaining system 10,000 gallons

Postby harjun » Mon 26 Apr, 2010 12:59

personally i was just vacuum all of that poolwater to waste as this will also vacuum the floor of the pool removing all muck stuck to the liner/floor of your pool
then you want to fill the whole pool up with water (costs about £60 of water for a 10,000 gallon pool) and then put a clarifier in the water. Then vacuum pool and net again 1 week after clarifier, then after vacuuming backwash for 2 minutes. Then rinse then top up with water and then treat the pool with chemicals and you basically have a ready to go pool.
Xclusive
Swimming Pool Wizard
Swimming Pool Wizard

Postby Xclusive » Tue 27 Apr, 2010 08:16