Suggestions on what to do with the “pool” on my property.

Construction or upgrading of new or existing
swimming pools. Pool building materials and
miscellaneous construction techniques.
mysticethan
I'm new here
I'm new here
My Pool: Large, in ground diving pool with hot tub.

Suggestions on what to do with the “pool” on my property.

Postby mysticethan » Sun 09 Dec, 2018 19:17

I purchased an investment property recently to flip. This is my first time doing so. The house and lots that it sit on have the potential to be absolutely gorgeous. However, I’m now realizing I could have a huge problem. I knew there was a pool here when I bought the property that had been filled in. Upon further investigation, I have discovered that I actually still have a pool. After pulling the covering of grass and vines off of it, I noticed the concrete decking, lip, tile, and gunite were readily visible at the deep end (it’s a diving pool) and seems to be intact with a few superficial cracks in the plaster. The deep end lacks about 2 feet or so from being level with the decking. The hot tub is only halfway filled in. The surface is boggy in places, and uneven overall. The plan was to top it off with dirt and repurpose as a garden or dog play area. After talking to some of the neighbors, I learned the pool was completely functional when the last owner moved in in 1999, and that “the desecration happened over many years.” The bottom was never broken up, nor were the sides. When I went out there to try and spread the dirt around, I discovered a really thick piece of rebar sticking up. I couldn’t pull it up due to the rolls of old carpet holding it down. Then I noticed the door frame, lattice work, microwave, and old plastic containers. I’m concerned it could be a trash pit. The former owner was not the responsible type, and not only was she in and out of prison, she let anyone and their dog stay here. It rained all day yesterday and the day before. When I was walking the property today I