Being my own GC

Construction or upgrading of new or existing
swimming pools. Pool building materials and
miscellaneous construction techniques.
AmINuts2

Being my own GC

Postby AmINuts2 » Thu 01 Apr, 2010 10:00

I have come to this form in hopes that I may find some guidance. I have shopped several pool builders here in the Houston area and found absolutely no one that I felt I could trust to build a pool for me that would live up to what I expect. The one and only that I found that came close, turned out to be embezzling money from the company he claimed to own. I have some experience with building and remodeling after hurricane Ike severely damaged my home. I guess my question is, have any of you GC'd your own pool and where would be the best place to start searching for subs.

mike45

Being my own GC

Postby mike45 » Fri 02 Apr, 2010 19:49

if your planning on going with fiberglass you can do it, you need to really look into who your concrete guy is he will make or break your pool. find somebody with experience in pool creations with jobs you can look at not pictures people will try to swindle you. do you have any backhoe or excavator experience?
czechmate
Swimming Pool Superstar
Swimming Pool Superstar
My Pool: 16 x 32 gunite21000 gal., Diamond Brite Blue, Swimquip XL pump, DE36

Being my own GC

Postby czechmate » Sun 04 Apr, 2010 19:37

You can go to the pool tile supply store and ask for recommendation on pool builders.
Than you ask who they use. Most sub out every trade. There is also a list of pool related trades in a phone book. After you make list ask for recent jobs and addresses for a references. It could take a month but could save you future frustration and disapointment.