UK below ground, cloudy water after multiple shocks - newbie owner!

Causes and cures for cloudy swimming pool water.
Milky pool water, white, pink, brown, purple, black cloudy water.
molokoid
Pool Care Proficient
Pool Care Proficient
My Pool: Roman Ended 10.5 x 4.5m outdoor pool

UK below ground, cloudy water after multiple shocks - newbie owner!

Postby molokoid » Sat 01 Jun, 2019 06:23

Problem: As the forum title would suggest, my problem is cloudy water! It's my first year of ownership of a below ground 20,000gallon pool in the UK. Unfortunately we never got the winter cover on and a whole lot of leaf debris was in the pool and it was pretty green. I shocked, scooped leaves off the bottom, vaccummed and brushed until we are where i am today. The water is blue, but cloudy. I have shocked probably 5 times now, used flocculant three times, all to no avail.

FC: currently 4, as i shocked it again last night (and it's midday now).
TC: don't know. I only have Aquacheck and Clearwater test strips
pH: 7.2
TA: 50
CH: don't know. I only have Aquacheck and Clearwater test strips
CYA: is this is the same as the stabilzer pad reading on Aquacheck, then it's around 20-30
My pool: below ground, 20,000 gallon
Pool chemicals: Chlorine... Calcium Hypochlorite Granules for shock and Aliphatic Polyamine as a flocculant. Plus i have multipurpose tablets for the day it gets clear and hopefully can be maintained (Trichloroisocyanuric Acid, Copper Sulphate and Aluminium Sulphate.)
My pump & filter: Hayward sand
Other info: Not yet used this spring / summer!

Any help and guidance appreciated as my continual shock and flocculanting clearly isn't working!

Teapot
Pool Industry Leader
Pool Industry Leader
My Pool: 12 x 24 (45m3) liner pool, Triton TR60 filter with AFM glass media (Activate) and variable speed pump running 0.08HP

Re: UK below ground, cloudy water after multiple shocks - newbie owner!

Postby Teapot » Sat 01 Jun, 2019 07:24