Cloudy Pool after adding 55lbs Baking Soda/Sodium Bicarbonate

Causes and cures for cloudy swimming pool water.
Milky pool water, white, pink, brown, purple, black cloudy water.
melgiov23
I'm new here
I'm new here
My Pool: 37.5m3/37.500 liter (10.000 gallon) In-ground pool, concrete with tiles surface, Hayward Max-Flo 1HP pump with Hayward Vari-Flo XL Valve Filter (SP0714T1)

Cloudy Pool after adding 55lbs Baking Soda/Sodium Bicarbonate

Postby melgiov23 » Tue 07 Sep, 2021 04:39

Problem:

Noob here, need some help. I was trying to fix a 37.5m3/37.500L (10.000 gallon) pool with 4.5 pH, low alkalinity, and low chlorine level. I Added about 25kg (55lbs) of baking soda (sodium bicarbonate) into the pool over the course of 2 nights with the filter being set on "circulate" mode for around 12 hours each day.

On the third day the pH stabilized around 7.2, the water was very blue, however very cloudy. I added two 8cm (3 inches) TCCA/Trichlor (Trichloroisocyanuric acid/Trichloro-s-triazinetrione) Tablets onto the pool and hoping the chlorine level would go up and clear the water for another 2 days with setting the filter on "filter" mode" (running around 12 hours each day).

On the fifth day the water was still very cloudy with negligible difference even after leaving the pool filter running for 24 hours. The chlorine level is also still low (just slightly better when compared to beginning).

My questions:

1. The water was very cloudy with whitish powder residue floating around the pool, especially when I tried to brush the pool floor, these powders came up floating to the surface (Images attached). What could this be?

- Is it from the sodium bicarbonate not yet fully dissolving into the water? or could it be something else? maybe precipitated calcium carbonate because of sudden change of pH from 4.5 to 7.2?