Cloudy Water /Don't waste time and money on chemicals

Causes and cures for cloudy swimming pool water.
Milky pool water, white, pink, brown, purple, black cloudy water.
JMD
I'm new here
I'm new here
My Pool: 18'x33' Oval Above Ground, Sand filter

Cloudy Water /Don't waste time and money on chemicals

Postby JMD » Wed 30 Jun, 2010 05:31

Hi all, I'm new here and I am by no means an expert on pool care. However this year I have learned a hard lesson. I own an 18x33 oval above ground pool and the lesson I have learned this year is when you open your pool if the water is to far gone don't waste hundreds of dollars and several weeks trying to clear up your water. Do what I did, drain the pool and refill it, you will be glad you did.

This season started off for me with nothing but headache. I opened my pool to find the water dark brown. After 16 gallons of shock, several doses of algae killer, blind vacuuming to waste , a couple hundred dollars spent at the pool store and two weeks of time, nothing was working, so I decided to drain the pool.

If you decided to do this keep this in mind, do it when you will be home for the entire draining. If the sun is on the pool you will want to hose down the liner walls as the water level goes down. This will get the dried chlorine off the liner and also help to keep it wet and prevent any possible shrinkage. I wet down my liner walls every half hour while it was draining. Also I chose to do this on a cloudy day.

Also do not drain the pool all the way, I took mine down to 8". At about one foot deep I got in the pool, brushed down the walls and bottom I brushed any remaining algae toward the draining hose so it would get sucked out. At 8" I started the re-fill. The 8" of water that remained in the pool was cloudy but the 85% of clean water going in was enough to over power it.