Pump will not work

Tips and problems concerning filling new pools.
Spring pool opening and fall pool closing.
Seasonal pool maintenance tips & advice.
joji
I'm new here
I'm new here
My Pool: concrete pool, surface pebblecrete,5m x4 m rectangular pool,waterco T600 sandfilter, onga 0.75 hp pump

Pump will not work

Postby joji » Fri 04 Feb, 2011 16:09

I am a novice
poo was neglected for a year (son was amintaining it cannot keep it up)
2 months ago, i resurface it with the help of a pool professional (his job is only resurfacing)
i filled the pool; I then went and backwash my filter; (pressure goes up a bit 1-2 psi)
I then filter my pool; the pressure was 0; then my son told that the intake pipe had ballooned (probably due to overheating from the pump); had it replaced and had the pump replaced. I thought my problem was solved; but no it isnt. The pressure is still 0 when I filter. please help

larbec
I'm new here
I'm new here
My Pool: I have a 20 x 36 in the ground pool

Pump will not work

Postby larbec » Wed 31 Aug, 2011 18:50

It sounds like it has lost its prime. Is it above or in the ground pool?

Your swimming pool pump must be "primed" in order to operate properly. When your pool pump is on but the pool water is not moving, the pump has "lost its prime". This means that air has entered the pump. Be sure to determine why the pool pump has air in it, instead of water, before you prime the pump again. Follow these steps carefully, to ensure you have covered every contingency. The safety of swimmers using your pool depends on the pump working in optimum condition.
Step 1- Figure Out How the Air Got In