Zerochlor

The Pool Wizard, Nature2, the Frog and other mineral systems for
simpler pool care. Non-chlorine Pristine Blue, Rainforest Blue and similar.
ZEROCHLOR
I'm new here
I'm new here
My Pool: zerochlor

Zerochlor

Postby ZEROCHLOR » Tue 05 Jul, 2011 10:34

Please feel free to visit my website.

I have been selling this product in north cyprus now for just 2 years,very good customer feedback.

Would be great to hear some feedback from some of the members here who are in the know regarding silver copper zinc and gold aluminium products used in pool sanitation.

Look forward to hearing your views.

chem geek
Pool Industry Leader
Pool Industry Leader

Zerochlor

Postby chem geek » Wed 06 Jul, 2011 04:13

Copper and silver ions do not kill most pathogens as quickly as chlorine. See the chart in this post and note that copper ions do not kill nor even inhibit fecal bacteria while the combination of copper and silver is mostly 50 times slower in kill rates than chlorine and are not very effective against viruses nor protozoa (or their oocysts, though chlorine is slow for oocysts as well). This is generally fast enough to prevent uncontrolled bacterial growth, but not fast enough to prevent person-to-person transmission of disease. This is why metal ions alone are not allowed in commercial/public pools in many countries (U.S., Australia, Germany, etc.) without a fast-acting bulk water sanitizer such as chlorine, bromine or Baquacil/biguanide/PHMB.

According to your website, you use and maintain potassium monopersulfate (MPS) in the pool as well, mostly for oxidation of bather waste. MPS does also help control pathogens, but is again slow to kill except at hot spa temperatures where the combination of silver ion and MPS has kill times roughly comparable to that of chlorine and is able to pass EPA DIS/TSS-12 with the Nature2 product for spas, though this is not the case for pools.

On this page of your website, it says the following: