Who to believe - "byhand" or computerized water test?

Discussions that do not fit into any of the
swimming pool categories and general topics.
Henry_R
Swimming Pool Pro
Swimming Pool Pro
My Pool: HOA Community Swimming pool built approx. 1971.
In-Ground, Plaster 34x18 3.5-6' deep, Sta-rite P2R A5D-120L pump, A.O. Smith centurion 1HP (uprated 1.25HP) motor,Hayward S244S filter(new 2011), Rainbow Lifegard Chlorine/Bomine feeder; new replastered June 2010

Postby Henry_R » Wed 27 Jul, 2011 19:30

Ok, I didn't find another place to ask this so I put it here. I am helping maintain a community HOA pool.
(I had to do this a couple of years ago whilst we were not using the pool since it needed replastering. So I know a little about how to do it but I'm no expert.)

It is a Plaster/Gunite pool. 36'x18' 3.5' to 6' deep. Details should show up in my profile. We just bought a new Hayward sand filter w/ side multiport side mount valve over Memorial Day weekend. It has worked well so far as I can tell. The old filter was as much as 25 year old and the sand of indeterminant age.

Our pool man failed us two weeks ago (July 11th) by letting our pool turn green for the third time in 8 weeks through the tablet feeder going empty. He's been fired when he gave us too many excuses and failed to show up.
Until we find another service we can afford we have to do this ourselves. We had the water tested at a Leslie's pools store which determined the CYA was >100ppm and phosphates were >1000 while chlorine was <1 or 0. This explained the green. That was two weeks ago on Thursday the 14th. They sold us some PhosFree, NoMorProblems and algaecide along with some trichlor and 73% cal-hypo. We also bought a vacuum and hose.