New pool owner with green pool.

Algae problems in swimming pool water.
Green (cloudy) water or slimy pool walls.
Black algae. Mustard algae. Pink or white pool mold.
herysoe
I'm new here
I'm new here
My Pool: 30,000 lt, salt chlorinator, in ground, plaster surface, sand filter

Postby herysoe » Tue 14 Feb, 2012 10:19

hi all, i am new in maintaining a swimming pool. the pool is kidney shape with 30000lt, using salt chlorinator and sand filter. after coming back from overseas, my pool welcomed me with green pool. So I went to local pool shop and here are the result:

0 chlorine
7.7 ph
160ppm hardness
0 alkalinity
10ppm CYA

so they gave me list to add and I did them. add chemicals here and there..3 days later my pool is better, very light green. close but no cigars yet....so i went back to pool shop and here are the new result:

0.1ppm free chlorine
0.4ppm comb chlorine
7.1 ph
250ppm hardness
130ppm alkalinity
15ppm cya
300ppb phosphate
5000ppm salt

so far, looks like i haven't add enough chlorine to the pool. So the pool shop gave the list todo again. I am currently adding hcl to lower the alkalinity so that the ph will increase. next step then to add more chlorine..
my questions:
1. is there any difference adding granular chlorine or liquid chlorine? as I may be able to buy cheaper liquid chlorine in gallons as to granular chlorine.
2. during this process, should I run the filter for 24hours or 12 hours..the steps from pool shop doesn't really say..
3. is my assumption correct, the pool still showing very light green because the free chlorine still not high enough? once they are high enough, then the pool should looks better..
4. one of the suggestion from the pool shop was to add filtrite salt water boost which is sodium dichoroisocyanurate..to superchlorinate the pool. it isn't adding granular chlorine will do the same job as well?

Please help..thank you

coolclearwater

Postby coolclearwater » Fri 24 Feb, 2012 09:54