Slide Valve partially broken

The basics of swimming pool maintenance.
New swimming pool owner's questions.
Help getting started with daily pool care.
kingamoon
I'm new here
I'm new here

Postby kingamoon » Sat 31 Mar, 2012 13:54

I'm very new to pool maintenance so forgive me ignorance when it comes to terms.

I have this sand filter for my in ground pool :

The plastic cover of the bottom of the Slide Valve was detached yesterday as indicated in the following :

Now even though I can still operate the valve to backwash, I can't figure out what mode it's on (Filter, Close ..etc). Should I just purchase that part (it's a kit and it's pretty pricey) or is it pretty straight forward what the setting is without the labels or the plastic part?

Any help would greatly be appreciated.

JohnnyBceo
I'm new here
I'm new here
My Pool: 21r Gray Stone, Fish Print Liner(beaded), E200 System, Ionizer and a set of wedding cake steps.

Postby JohnnyBceo » Wed 25 Apr, 2012 15:05

is there any way you can contact the place you got the pool and see if the can come out and mark what each setting is for you?
cpo2go
Swimming Pool Wizard
Swimming Pool Wizard
My Pool: 27,000 gal, pebble tec, all Pentair equipment; DE filter, 3/4 hp, 400k heater, Poolvergnuegen 4x Pool Cleaner

Postby cpo2go » Sun 20 May, 2012 14:57

With a slide valve (also called a push-pull valve) it can only be in either backwash or filter position. If the water is returning to the pool, you're in filter mode. If it's blowing out your backwash/waste line, you're in backwash mode. :)
http://www.cpo2go.com
Pool and Spa Water Care Simplified.
Easy to use, fast results.
kingamoon
I'm new here
I'm new here

Postby kingamoon » Tue 19 Jun, 2012 18:45

So that handle/piston part finally broke off and I ordered that part (not the entire assembly; just the handle and piston - Part Number SPX0410BA

How do I go about replacing it?

Thanks for any help in advance
TSH Tech

Postby TSH Tech » Wed 20 Jun, 2012 00:45