TA high, pH low, where did my chlorine go?

Problems relating to pH and total alkalinity.
Increase ph, increase TA. Reduce pH, reduce TA.
pH chemistry advice and techniques for the pool.
compuboks
I'm new here
I'm new here

Postby compuboks » Thu 30 May, 2013 22:47

I humbly apologize if any of this is repeated in another thread. I've been combing through here for the last several hours trying to figure out what I need to do and still don't have a definitive solution.

Background: Have a 35,000gal gunite/plaster private pool. Serves 60 condos, usage varies from 5-20 users/day Summer to 10-40 Winter (Big old 102F hot tub in the winter - Ski Resort amenity). Summer is the relevant season right now.

I've been maintaining this pool for about four years now. I'd had no water balance issues until last fall when we did a full drain/refill from city water. Last winter start I had some low pH issues which had NEVER been a problem before (usually only high pH problems). I corrected with soda ash and didn't worry about much beyond that. THIS spring startup, I've been battling everything. My pH has been consistently too low (started at 7.0), my TA is high (started at 180), and no matter how much trichlor (my only sanitizer) I add I'm only seeing 0.5 to 1.0ppm FC on my test kit.

Now, I did do several things differently this year. Between seasons, instead of keeping a small number of trichlor tabs in the my injector I left it empty and the pool covered for two months - Basically just circulating unheated with no treatment. Because of this I had a bit of a green algae bloom. I corrected with a granular chlorine shock (the type escapes me right now, pretty sure it wasn't trichlor). Since however I haven't been able to control the chemistry.