Valve settings for "Main drain" and "main drain return"

The basics of swimming pool maintenance.
New swimming pool owner's questions.
Help getting started with daily pool care.
Dr.Ron
I'm new here
I'm new here
My Pool: 41,600 gal.25x45, attached spa,DE filter-Jandy system,polaris pump

Postby Dr.Ron » Sat 21 Jun, 2014 01:19

Hello. I am a newbie here and a new pool owner. I have a 41,600 gallon pool with a large attached spa, waterfalls (3) and all Jandy equipment. I am the 2nd owner of this house/pool. The pool is 6-7 yrs. old. I already had to replace the heater, blower motor,cleaner pump, and the salt cell. They obviously didn't care for the pool much. Some stain/scaling on the pool floor as well. I've been brushing that, but I think it needs some resurfacing of some sort....anyway...

There is a label on the PVC pipes labeled "main drain." The pool guy said keep this valved closed/off. I did a little research and it seems most say the main drain is useless and many new pool builds don't even include a main drain. Should I leave it set to off?

There is also a "main drain return" label. This valve was in the off position. Should I leave that off as well?

I ask because there are only 2 returns located in the shallow end, about 18" apart from each other. The spa spills over into the pool gently. There is a skimmer in the shallow end and one in the deep end. I'm thinking the 1 return is not enough for this size pool...A lot of the debris collects on the slope to the deep end on the far side of the pool.

I have a cleaner pump which blows out through a return in the center of the pool. Should I use this to help circulate the water better?