pool will not hold chlorine level

The basics of swimming pool maintenance.
New swimming pool owner's questions.
Help getting started with daily pool care.
jaybayarea408
I'm new here
I'm new here
My Pool: 35,000 to 40,000 gallon pool, In Ground Pool , I have pump and filter

pool will not hold chlorine level

Postby jaybayarea408 » Tue 19 Jul, 2016 21:51

Please help to get my pool to chlorine level. I am very new to this and my pool size is about 35,000 to 40,000 (In-Ground) with filter and pump and solar heat system. Its driving me crazy . :crazy: :crazy:

Denniswiseman
Pool Industry Leader
Pool Industry Leader
My Pool: 10k inground fibreglass, Telescopic Cover, Hayward Powerline pump, Quality filter with glass media, 27kw output heat pump, K-2006C test kit

Re: pool will not hold chlorine level

Postby Denniswiseman » Wed 20 Jul, 2016 04:36

Do you have a test kit
Post your results back here so we can help you
The fact that you can't get the chlorine to hold maybe because your Cyanuric acid (stabilisor) is to high. What are you using to chlorinate
paulbest
Swimming Pool Wizard
Swimming Pool Wizard

Postby paulbest » Sat 06 Aug, 2016 20:05

the recommended range for chlorine especially in residential pools is 1-3 ppm (parts-per-million), however keeping the chlorine level should be at 2-3 ppm. continual testing of the chlorine is essential to keep the number (2-3) maintained. one of the effective method in testing your chlorine level is a strip, you just have to make sure that it is not outdated. second is the test kit however it can have inaccurate result especially when not stored properly (direct sunlight, frozen or been contaminated in some way). if your chlorine level is a little high or low, then you need to adjust the level.