Shocking, I can't believe they continue Slamming me!

What is floc, clarifier, stabilizer, cyanuric acid,
algaecide, brightener, dichlor, sodium hypo,
sodium bisulfate, ....??
LeimLife
I'm new here
I'm new here

Shocking, I can't believe they continue Slamming me!

Postby LeimLife » Wed 17 Aug, 2016 22:38

I spent my first 2 seasons as a pool service tech cleaning nearly 50 pools/spas/fountains each week, testing and treating water, and keeping customers happy. I then aced my NSPF CPO exam before the start of my third season and kept moving along. Now in my 6th season as a pool pro, I have remedied a significant number of chemistry problems. Pools that had water that was green, sometimes even black and nrar festering, were made swimmable within a few days, as little as two days, using standards I was taught and techniques that I have learned. One of these techniques is adding copious amounts of chlorine to the water which seems to be a common technique.

Now I was taught that shocking a pool is a great way to keep water clean and sanitary. That if there is algae present 30ppm of chlorine, a good brushing and an equipment check usually has people swimming in a day or two. Because I deal with up to 10 different pools a day, I don't have time to test the water every 8 hours and add a few ounces of chlorine here and there.

This is the way a pool service operates, and in my time I've never been told that my efforts to make a pool clean and sanitary were fruitless acts, and I have a schedule full of happy customers to prove it. Then, someone on a pool forum jumped all over me saying that what I do is wrong, and even went as far as to tell a person that I was trying to help to not listen to me.